Three Chapter Test: Stormy Weather by Glen Ebisch

The Three Chapter Test was created due to the mountain of books I have in my Kindle, and because in contrast to that, there’s so little time. So, in order to get to the books that I want to read, or that intrigue me and capture my imagination and attention, I decided to do a Three Chapter Test on the books. Meaning, I must read at least the first 3 chapters or 17% of the book, whichever comes first, in order to make a more or less informed judgement on whether to continue or to abandon.

I’m not really a big fan of mysteries, but I joined a book tour and decided to review this book after reading an excerpt from it somewhere.

Title: Stormy Weather
Author: Glen Ebisch
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Genre: Mystery

Plus Points:

  1. The story began with some action, and already, we are drawn into the story and to Stormy’s plight–that of being awakened at an ungodly hour. Which brings me to…
  2. Relatable heroine. Her fear, her erupting due to being helpless, we all know how that feels and we sympathize with her. We want to know she’ll be okay!
  3. Chance Malone, the hero, is intriguing! I don’t know about Stormy, but I wouldn’t mind getting to know him better.
  4. The author’s prose is easy to read and his manner of writing is engaging. The writing of some male authors are rather dry, i.e. not much emotion, too much narrative on the action, etc, but that is not the case here!
  5. The POV is first person, which is not my favorite, but you know what, it didn’t bother me here. So definitely a plus point!
  6. Then of course, there’s the mystery of Travis’s murder. Who killed him? Why? Why did he/she frame Stormy? Did he/she have something against Stormy too?

Minus Points:

  1. I can’t think of any. (Wow!)

Verdict:

Read, read, read!

Disclaimer: Not everyone will have the same reaction as me to this book. So, in case you picked up this book, I welcome your thoughts in comments below.

Note: By the way, I’m featuring Glen Ebisch in an interview on June 21, so do drop by at that time. Since I’ll be reading onward, I’ll be writing a review for this book, but it will be featured on The Romance Reviews. Check out TRR on June 23! Click here.

 


Summary:

When the body of Travis Lambert, senior meteorologist, is found buried in a shallow grave next to the house of Stormy McCloud, junior meteorologist, things look bad.

The station hires Chance Malone to investigate the murder, but her situation doesn’t improve. Malone is attractive, charming, and funny, all qualities that her past experience with men has led her to avoid. It doesn’t help that Stormy has little interest in religion, while Malone is the unusual detective that keeps a Bible in his desk drawer instead of a bottle of scotch.

When Stormy’s estranged mother appears on the scene, things become even more complicated. As they discover more about the dark secrets of Travis’s life, Stormy is forced to reconsider her view of men, her mother, and her future.

Leave a Reply

