Three Chapter Test: How to Ruin Your Reputation in 10 Days by Harmony Williams

The Three Chapter Test was created due to the mountain of books I have in my Kindle, and because in contrast to that, there’s so little time. So, in order to get to the books that I want to read, or that intrigue me and capture my imagination and attention, I decided to do a Three Chapter Test on the books. Meaning, I must read at least the first 3 chapters or 17% of the book, whichever comes first, in order to make a more or less informed judgement on whether to continue or to abandon.

So, here goes:

Title: How to Ruin Your Reputation in 10 Days
Author: Harmony Williams
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Genre: Historical Romance

Plus Points:

  1. The author’s prose is refreshing with new ways of saying things.
  2. The story is in written from the 1st person POV, which is not my preferred style, but the heroine’s voice was engaging and delightful. See point #1.
  3. Julian, the hero, is mysterious and sounds dashing.
  4. It’s a friends-to-lovers story, my favorite trope!

Minus Points:

  1. Some of the heroine’s reactions are mystifying and over the top, leaving me…well, mystified. I mean, I like heroines who react to the situation and the words that are being said, but this is too much.
  2. Some of the events that happened were also not logical, or maybe the better word would be “realistic”.

Verdict:

Not going to read further.

Disclaimer: Not everyone will have the same reaction as me to this book. So, in case you picked up this book, I welcome your thoughts in comments below.

 


Summary:

In 1814 London, England, a lady is defined as a demure, delicate flower. Miss Francine Annesley is not that lady. If men were like plants, she would have a garden of admirers to choose from instead of the thorn in her side since childhood, Julian Beckwith. But she would make an even worse nun than she does a lady, which will be her fate if she can’t dig up a husband before the Season ends. However, Julian is not an option.

With only ten short days left in the Season, Francine doesn’t have time to waste on petty squabbles or knee-weakening kisses, even if Julian’s offer to fulfill her every wish rouses her curiosity. It seems men are more complicated than plants. Too bad love bloomed at the most inconvenient of times…

Leave a Reply

