Character Interview of Cailean Ross from Edge of Yesterday by Sue-Ellen Welfonder and Tarah Scott

From USA Today & Internationally Bestselling Authors
Sue-Ellen Welfonder and Tarah Scott

In a place beyond rules,
daring is power,
and love is the greatest threat of all…

CHARACTER INTERVIEW of CAILEAN ROSS (hero)

  1. CoverPlease tell us a little bit about yourself.

    CR:  Sure. (he smiles) I’m a regular Scottish guy. Modern-born, from Scotland’s Central Belt, but I have family ties to the Isle of Skye. For that reason, I’m proud to call myself a Highlander and have always felt drawn to the Highlands. I’m also a medieval reenactor and tournament circuit champion, having earned the title in sword fighting and jousting matches. Now, much to my amazement, I’ve landed in real medieval Scotland. Heatheredge in the far north, to be precise. I’ve fallen for a lass there. We’ll see if I can keep her. I sure hope so.

 

2. How did you feel when you suddenly find yourself in medieval Scotland? What was the first thing you did?

CR:  From the gut, I felt as if I’d been beaten to within an inch of my life. Sure, there are lots of time travel romance novels, but I’m here to tell you that actually doing it is not for the faint of heart. As to the first thing I did, well, my lady authors have forbidden me to give spoilers. So I’ll just say my first ‘action’ in real medieval Scotland involved sword fighting (right up my street). There might have been a fair maiden involved. Just know it was really cool. I’m proud.

  1. What went through your head at your first sight of Julianna Mackay? What is it about her that captivated you?

CR:  (Cailean laughs) Honest answer? Ah, well, that would be that she is one kick-ass lassie. Bold, daring, and she definitely knows her mind – and how to take care of herself. I would no’ want to be on her wrong side. She’s also smart. I caught that straightaway. ‘Course, I wouldnae be a red-blooded man, much less a Highlander, if I didn’t tell you that I admired more than her mind and courage. She’s a right bonnie lass and she’s no’ ashamed of her passion. So I ask you – how could I have resisted her?

  1. Good answer. Can you tell us more about this 600 year old curse?

CR:  The curse? (Cailean leans in, lowers his voice) Truth is, I’m no’ sure. After all, I just landed here in real medieval Scotland and am just trying to stay alive. As a champion reenactor, I’m used to swinging a sword. The men here do more than that – they use their blades to kill. No acting for them. So I have enough on my mind. I can say I’ve heard whispers, and seen some strange things. Something is definitely up with this place and the people. Hopefully I’ll know more soon. I’m no’ keen on curses.

  1. Nor are we. I hope you can clear that up soon. What is the one thing that scares you the most?

CR: Are ye serious? (Cailean puts back his shoulders, hooks his thumbs in his sword belt) See you, it takes a lot to scare a Highlander. Most-times we’re the ones who strike fear in the hearts of others, preferably our foes. But as you asked and I dinnae like clichéd answers, I’ll give ye a new and true one. Medieval cider. Every time someone offers me a cup, I want to run a hundred miles. I secretly think medievals store the stuff in stinky old boots.

  1. LOL If there’s one thing you can change or do over, what would it be?

CR: This is easy. (Cailean laughs  – he also leans in again, locking his gaze on yours) Did ye read my comment above? About ‘fearing’ medieval cider? Well, that’s your answer. If I could start this hero business again, stride fresh onto the page, I would refuse all proffered cups of medieval cider. And that no matter how hard Tarah and Sue-Ellen try to force me to drink it. They might be the co-authors, but EDGE OF YESTERDAY is my story. I’m the hero. And I’m done with 14th century cider.

~*~

The co-authors (Tarah Scott & Sue-Ellen Welfonder) would like to thank Romancing the Books and More for hosting us today. We also want to assure all readers that Cailean downed medieval cider of his own free will. We did not force him. We might be guilty of chuckling a bit at his reaction to it.

 

To learn more about Cailean and EDGE OF YESTERDAY, visit our EDGE Series website: http://theedgeromanceseries.com/

 

Cover

EDGE OF YESTERDAY

Sue-Ellen Welfonder and Tarah Scott

Genre: Historical Romance, Time Travel
Series: Edge Series, Book 1
Publisher: Broken Arm Publishing
Publication Date: December 27, 2016
Add to Goodreads

Two of Scottish romance’s most loved authors have joined pens to write a thrilling new time travel series filled with passion, danger, and intrigue. These never-before-published novels will sweep you to Scotland’s Highland Heatheredge, where magic is real, time is relevant, and there is no escape from desire…

Men are disappearing in the Highland crofting village of Heatheredge. The authorities suspect foul play, but without signs of violence—or bodies—they can’t prove a thing.

World champion swordsman Cailean Ross is living the fantasy of a lifetime as the victor of Heatheredge’s medieval reenactment Gathering. But when the fantasy turns into reality, swordplay becomes a fight to the death and he finds himself among the ‘missing’ statistics.

Julianna Mackay flees a man she fears is an evil wizard and literally runs into handsome Cailean Ross. Cailean defends Lady Julianna from her attackers. Together, they set out in search of the key to a six-hundred-year-old curse that can only be broken in medieval Scotland.

When the veil of time is lifted, Cailean and Julianna find that love may not be enough to save them or those they hold dear.

Purchase Links:

Edge of Yesterday is now available. Grab your copy today.

Amazon

tarah-scott-teaser

Giveaway

giveaway-graphic

7 Amazing Prizes up for grabs:

$25 Amazon Gift Card
Five (5) Edge of Yesterday eBooks
One (1) Edge of Yesterday signed paperback

Click here to enter the contest now

About the Authors

USA Today and Internationally bestselling authors Sue-Ellen Welfonder and Tarah Scott have more in common than friendship. For many years, they’ve both enjoyed spending their working hours in a world of romance and adventure, bringing handsome Highlanders and their ladies to life. Now they’ve joined pens, deciding that when it comes to happily-ever-afters, two writers can stir up even more danger and desire for the characters they love. The EDGE series, Scottish time travel romances, is their first co-authored project, and launches Dec. 27th with EDGE OF YESTERDAY.

Visit the author’s official websites
Sue-Ellen Welfonder: http://www.welfonder.com/
Tarah Scott: http://www.tarahscott.com/


Follow the authors on social media
Sue-Ellen Welfonder: Facebook | Twitter
Tarah Scott: Facebook | Twitter

Schedule

Get tidbits, excerpts and other interesting, never before published articles about the book. Click here for the other blogs.


In partnership with

Book Unleashed

Leave a Reply

