Random Thoughts: My First Romance

I’m an avid reader. Words and the images they evoked fascinated me. Mom thought I was so industrious, reading my books before the term even started. Little did she know I only read the books which contain stories!
My romance with books started when I was a kid with fairy tales and The Enchanted Wood and The Magic Faraway Tree (both by Enid Blyton). When I got my library card, I devoured Nancy Drew and the Bobbsey Twins and the Dana Girls and Judy Bolton books. I remember I was 11 years of age, when my friend lent me my first adult (meaning, not YA) romance–a Mills & Boon she snitched from her mother’s stash.
To say I was shocked and confused was an understatement. To move from Nancy Drew to Mills & Boon was a big leap. I read it like any other story and I believe the romance was okay with me, even the kissing stuff, but I do recall being uneasy at the intimate scenes. Nothing explicit was described, but well, the thing was, I wasn’t all that knowledgeable about anatomy and some of the stuff that happened confused me. In short, I didn’t understand what was happening.
Thankfully, I wasn’t put off with reading romances, but I switched to teen novels—Sweet Dreams and Sweet Valley High. I think I was about 14 when I had my second adult romance, and it was such a sweet, romantic story I was hooked forever.
What about you? What was your first encounter with reading adult romances like?
Leave a Reply

