Review: Never Sweeter by Charlotte Stein

garden

NEVER SWEETER may be a bit dark, but it’s also one of the sweetest romances I’ve read in a long time.

Letty was bullied when she was in high school, but she never thought she’d see one of them–Tate–in college. Terrified that the bullying will start again, she avoids him, but when they are partnered for a project in a class, she starts to get to know him and sees a different side of him. But which is the real Tate?

The author’s writing style is something I’ve never read before, yet it seems to fit the characters and the story well. The story is written solely from the point of view of the heroine, and it’s like there’s this blanket, a veil that prevents things from coming too sharp. I’m not sure if this is how the author really writes or if it’s deliberate to fit the background of the characters (that of a bully and the girl he torments coming together years later), but it works.

While the characters’ background is dark (you won’t believe some of the things high-school-Tate did to high-school-Letty), there’s a touching theme of redemption here, where Tate tries to make amends to Letty when they are now both in college. Letty’s terror upon first seeing him again, her wariness at making friends or interpreting actions are heartbreaking; anyone ever bullied would feel this way, and it’s a crime that they were ever made to feel this way. Tate, though, was sweet and endearing as he tried to make amends and some of the things he said to Letty even made me want to cry. They do have some trust issues to work through. He didn’t excuse what he’d done in the past; he owned up to it.

The resolution and the ending…that just teared me up.

Almost no grammatical errors or typos that I could see. There’s lots of sex in here though, so be warned. I don’t feel they’re gratuitous though; the sex scenes are so hot they almost burned through my kindle.

Fabulous book that gives you all the feels, NEVER SWEETER is going on my keeper shelf! Now, excuse me while I go check out other Charlotte Stein books.

Rating: 5 stars

The Romance Review

Get it now from Amazon

Summary:

Second chances are sweeter than ever in Charlotte Stein’s steamy Dark Obsession series—perfect for fans of Katy Evans—as a self-reliant college girl falls for a reformed bully who’s desperate to make up for lost time.

Letty Carmichael can’t believe her eyes when she catches a glimpse of her high school tormenter, wrestling champ Tate Sullivan, on campus. College was supposed to be her escape from Tate’s constant ridicule. Now he’s in her classes again, just waiting for his chance to make her life hell. But when Letty and Tate are partnered up for an assignment—on sex in cinema, of all things—she starts to see a kinder, gentler side of him. And when she realizes Tate knows more about sex than she could ever guess at, he soon starts making her blush in a whole new way.

Tate Sullivan is haunted by regret over his cruelty toward Letty. So when she agrees to work with him, he seizes his chance to make amends. He can’t blame her for not believing he’s for real, but soon Tate starts to break down her wall. She wants to know about passion, desire, lust—topics he is well versed in. And in return she offers the one thing he always wanted: the chance to be more than just a jock.

Letty is shocked by how sensitive Tate can be. Still, desiring him feels ludicrous. Loving him is impossible. Craving him is beyond all reason. So why can’t she stop?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s