Review: Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

garden

BLURRED LINES is a raw, no-holds-barred portrayal of two best friends making the choice to become lovers, and it’s the best I’ve ever read! And I should know, since it’s one of my favorite tropes.

Parker Blanton and Ben Olsen have been best friends for six years. When her boyfriend of many years dumped her, Parker decides to go back into the singles dating…er, hookup scene and who better to teach her than the king of hookups himself–her best friend Ben?

When her attempts end in disaster, with Parker believing the reason is because she didn’t feel an emotional connection with the guy, the logical next step is to find a guy she did feel a connection with–Ben. And boy, did they burn up the sheets! But when her ex-boyfriend decides he wants her back, Parker is more confused than ever, especially when Ben starts dating a friend of hers. Who did she really want? And would the guy she chose want her the same way?

Amazing. Simply amazing. I was swept up into Parker and Ben’s story from the first page, and I didn’t want it to end. The story was romantic without being mushy, and best of all, very realistic. It could happen to any of us who has a guy best friend. 🙂

Parker and Ben are best friends, and you can definitely see it from their interactions, their teasing and their banter, two people who are very at ease in their skins around each other. The author sold me on this from the get-go in the first chapter–that was so much fun!– as she showed us just how good their friendship was, before she starts to show the minute ways in which it changed, slowly, over the course of the book. What I also like was that the move from being friends to lovers wasn’t awkwardly done; no, it was realistic (for lack of a better word), something that I could see happening between friends who are thinking of making the move to the next step.

There was no slow moment in the story; the stakes got progressively higher with each chapter, along with the tension. The pace was just right, and the writing flowed smoothly. The characters were empathetic, flawed and believable, and together, they were hot hot hot! There was no superfluous intimate scene, and I love that!

The story was told in alternating points of view, using the first person POV, and it worked for me. I enjoyed knowing how each of them views and feels toward a certain situation, and seeing things from different perspectives provided depth to the story than if we had only seen things from Parker’s eyes.

The only thing that bothered me was why, since Parker and Lance (the boyfriend) were together for many years to the point that Parker thought they were going to marry, the two of them haven’t moved in together long before the start of the book? That was the only thing that didn’t make much sense to me. Other than to have Parker and Ben live under the same roof, of course.

That aside, this was a fanta-bulous story! A must read, especially for readers who like this trope.

Rating: 5 stars

The Romance Review

Get it now from Amazon

Summary:

In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

  1. Pingback: My Top Ten of 2015 | Romancing the Books and More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s